Today marked our seventh session of life drawing and we started with our one minute warm up poses. However, what I wish to talk about is drawing Dirk the Daring onto the poses that our model held. Robert wore items that mimicked the location of where key items of Dirk would sit. We then had to draw Robert as Dirk. This was challenging as Dirk is a cartoon character with unrealistic proportions and I found this difficult, yet fun, to transpose onto Robert’s form.

We didn’t have homework this week, but I did practice the spheres and light sources again. Although I’m getting better at understanding the light sources, I used colour for the shadows which made the shadows get lost on the sphere. I intend to practice again using tonal. Next week we are set to draw Madam Mim which I will practice drawing in my spare time as I believe it would’ve helped if I had done that with Dirk as well.

dav

Leave a Reply

