I have designed my concepts, and I showed them to my group. I shalll make a post about them later but first I wished to show off my infuences.

Floating Cities in Real Life

There was an incident a few years ago where a floating city apparenty appeared above China.

There are also plans for the world’s first ever floating city to be built in the Pacific Ocean.

3C3369EB00000578-4127954-image-a-3_1484658113235

There is also Delos in Greece. It is the birthplace of Apollo and Artemis in Greek Mythology and was commmonly referred to as a floating city/Island.

Delos
Delos

There are also the floating mountains in China found in Zhangjiajie National Forest Park. The tall steep mountains are so tall and steep that from above they appear to not reach the ground, creating the illusion of floating.

chinas-floating-mountains10

Media: Tv Shows, Films, Etc.

We looked breifly at Cloud City from Satr Wars.

Cloud_City
Cloud City

The Windmill island from ‘Feel Good Inc.’ by Gorillaz.

I also took inspiration from their video ‘Melancholy Hill’, with the whole submarine idea. However, it did originate from a video game which I will include later.

You can see the inspiration that James Cameron took for Pandora’s floating mountains in Avatar from China’s very own floating mountians.

Pandora.jpg
Avatar: Pandora

There was also the floating city of population of Venus from the anime ‘Cow Boy Bebop’.

Bebop_08_14
Venus

Wall-E was a massive floating ship, which we briefly considered.

wallebdcap7-original_orig.jpg
Wall-E

There was also the inevitable influence of Laputa, from Studio Ghibli’s ‘Laputa: Castle in the Sky’.

Coalgirls_Laputa_Castle_in_the_Sky_1920x1038_Blu-Ray_FLAC_973DE550.mkv_snapshot_01.26..png
Laputa

Video Games

This was my favourite segment as I love video games.

We looked briefly at the concept of Gravity Rush, with the massove gravity storm crushing the world, and the gravatational field being manipulated to hold together civilistaions.

2_orig
Gravity Rush

I really liked the idea of Cocoon form Final Fantasy 13. I liked ho the world was contained within this crystalised shell floating bove the rest of the planet. Like a moon. But I also loved the story behind Cocoon. How it was destroying itself from the inside.

tumblr-mfw1k4c9nr1r2waado1-1280_orig.jpg
Cocoon

Another concept which I really loved was the concept of Dalaran from World of Warcraft. I love how it was obviously built on a massive hunk of floating rock, and you can see the roughness underneath the pristine city.

Dalaran_concept.jpg
Dalaran

Another floating city which I adore is the city of ‘Skyloft’ from ‘Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword’. I just adore its aesthetic.

Skyloft_Artwork.png
Skyloft

Artists

Roger Dean

Stumbling across Roger Dean’s work last semester was a blessing. His work is just so unique and etereal. His landscapes are filled with unusual shapes as well as floating islands and mountains. He is best known for his album covers, however his work has gone on to inspire countless film makers, artists and students, as well as show them the importance of always carrying a sketchbook. I just love how original and eyecatching his work is. No two pieces are the same and extremely interesting and serene to look at.

ROger Dean

Rebelution

Naohisa Inoue

I found Naohisa Inoue thorugh Molly, however I had no idea exactly how in love he is with his fantastical world of Iblard. Now, I haven’t watched the film yet, but  I am going to after seeing Mr Inoue’s work. He is a critically acclaimed artist. His love for his world and exactly how its influenced, how you can get into Iblard and what influences his world are put together in this amazing article. What I like about his work is how cose to home it feels. Even though everything is floating, life still appears to be continuing as normal. You can still see the archetecture that we know from our own world in his world, and its amazing how normal, yet other wordly it feels. Also his use of colours is phenomenal.

Naohisa Inoue 2

Naohisa Inoue

 

Leave a Reply

