This week I researched various plants which I considered modelling and begn modelling.

First off though, I modelled some simple tree designs to flesh out our forest with.

tree1tree2 - CopyTree3

This was inpsired by the circular deisgns used in Charlie Chalk. Although simple my group seemed to really like them.

Then I began researching different plants which we could put into our scene.

Amorphophallus Titanum

Amorphophallus Titanum.jpg

 

This plant is a large flowering plant, known as a carrion plant, for its odor which smells like a rotting corpse. I don’t think we will end up sing this plant though, its a little pointed for our taste.

Rafflesia Arnoldii

rafflesia-arnoldii

Another type of carrion plant, is the Rafflesia Arnoldii, which is the largest plant in the world, but also extremely endangered. They look rather comical and round, almost bouncy, and so we thought it world fit the tone we were going for in our animation.

Nepenthes

fact5.jpg

Are carniorous plants situated in warm climates. They have the power to dislodge rain drops, causing the lid to snap shut and trap ants sheltering underneath into the acidic liquid stored inside them. Despite their carnivorous nature, we thought their design was appealing.

Orchids

Orchid_Phalaenopsis_hybrid

Whilst Orchids aren’t as exotic as the plants above they are extremely beautiful and in the language of flowers, it is the chinese symbol for many children.

After finding out that Alistair was also looking at these plants, I focused more on water based plants.

Water Based Plants

River Reeds

SONY DSC

River Weeds look like corn dogs, however what captured my attention was that they are commonly seen around river banks, offering cover for more vulnerable creatures. I also like how soft and round they look.

Water Lilies

sq_water_lily_attraction_001

I was concerned about the lack of ‘pretty’ flowers we had in our scene. So I loked at our river and decided that it might look a little bland without the addition of a few water baswd flowers. Water lilies not only fit the aesthetic of our scene, they also filtered the water so that the water remains crystal clear which we want our river to give the appearance of.

Whilst I started dabbling in terms of making these models, I kept running into problems until I found this quick and easy tutorial, which I could easily manipulate into my own shaped leaves and creations.

Leave a Reply

