Coming into this semester with a better understanding of life drawing and the human form, I was excited to see what this semester would hold for me as I was gaining confidence in my drawing ability.

I quickly found that although my overall drawing ability had increased I was still struggling in some of the more basic elements such as perspective and proportion. Although, this disheartened me slightly I liked how we could critique each other’s work and when this happened I was delighted to find that, despite my problems with proportions and perspective, you could tell the gender and weight of the figure as my drawings were consistent.

I saw myself improving but only by a small bit and I wondered why this was when I completed the homework and attended every class. It was brought to my attention by Conann that there seemed to be a lack of desire to learn and understand how the human body worked to gain understanding of how to draw the body. That week I picked up ’Anatomy for the Artist’ from our library, I was determined to learn, and the fact that it was not obvious made me realise that I wasn’t showing enough initiative. It turned out that picking up that book was the best decision I could have made.

I started understanding how the bones in the human body worked, how they interacted with each other to twist into the person’s desired pose. I found it easier to simplify the body’s form into solid shapes and apply perspective to my drawings easier. As my knowledge on the human body grew, so did my understanding of how to draw the human body and I believe it shows in my work.

Another aspect of my work that was brought to my attention this semester was how important research is. During the last week of life drawing we spent an entire session an analysing two articles and the better of the two was the one with more research and references. It’s made me realise that I need to do better with including my research in my blog and presenting it in my work.

The final assignment was challenging, I was stuck for ages on how to go about designing my character, what was appealing, what principles I should focus on. Whenever I started looking to my past work for inspiration on what to do I found that a lot of the techniques that we had been learning in class were setting us up for this assignment, such as the head rotations for the character rotation. The point of balance for follow through and over lapping. Perspective for solid drawing. After I realised this I looked at what I want to practice and choose the principles that corresponded to this.

I feel that my character is well designed for its purpose, it’s a diverse character with a lot of appeal. His weight allowed me to practice squash and stretch as you could see his stomach squash and stretch. His braid and flowing shirt allowed me to explore follow through and over lapping actions. Whilst his thick legs made for a good exploration of how his muscles changed with anticipation and how his centre of balance changed. Finally, his soft build allowed for me to explore solid drawing by using wider solid shapes, granting me an easier perspective to work with.

Overall, I have learnt a lot this semester. I now have a better understanding of the human form, and how to apply the techniques I have learnt in life drawing to my animation work. I have seen my drawing improve this year at a fantastic rate, and I hope to continue to study and understand the human form and the 12 principles of animation over the summer, so I can further my ability.

References:

Barcasy, Jeno. Anatomy For The Artist. 1st ed. London: Black Cat, 1998. Print.

Hogarth, Burne. Dynamic Anatomy. 1st ed. New York: Watson-Gutpill Publications, 2003. Print.

Thomas, Frank, and Ollie Johnston. The Illusion Of Life: Disney Animation. 1st ed. Abbeville Press, 1981. Print.

Williams, Richard. The Animator’s Survival Kit. 1st ed. London: Faber and Faber, 2009. Print.

Leave a Reply

